Maharishi University of Management

"Close the eyes and transcend, open the eyes and read the Vedic Literature in Sanskrit." — Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

Shiksha is one of the structuring dynamics of Rk Veda. It highlights the quality of EXPRESSION involved in structuring Rk Veda. With reference to consciousness, Shiksha comprises the specific sets of laws of Nature that are engaged in promoting the quality of Rishi — the observer, the witnessing quality — within the Samhita level of consciousness, providing a structure to the eternally silent, self-referral, self-sufficient, fully awake state of consciousness, which is intimately personal to everyone. (complete table of qualities)

In the physiology, Shiksha is represented by the structures which compute and express the internal aspects of the physiology, such as its biochemical constituents, temperature, pressure, etc. (the expressions of the autonomic nervous system).These expressions are channeled via the autonomic ganglia. These are 36 on each side of the spinal cord, corresponding to the 36 books of Shiksha.

— Prof. Tony Nader-Ram
in Human Physiology:

Expression of Veda and the
Vedic Literature,
pp. 80-81

There are 36 Śikṣā texts. These comprise the Vedāṅga Śikṣā. There are Śikṣā texts belonging to each of the Vedas, Ṛk Veda, Śukla Yajur Veda, Kṛṣṇa Yajur Veda, Sāma Veda and Atharva Veda.