Reading the Vedic
Literature in Sanskrit
Practicing the Transcendental
Meditation program


Puran is one of the structuring dynamics of Rk Veda. It highlights the ANCIENT and ETERNAL quality involved in structuring Rk Veda. With reference to consciousness, Puran comprises the specific sets of laws of Nature that are engaged in promoting the quality of Devata — the process of observation, the dynamism of observing in the witnessing quality of Rishi — within the Samhita level of consciousness, providing a structure to the eternally silent, self-referral, self-sufficient, fully awake state of consciousness, which is intimately personal to everyone. (complete table of qualities)

In the physiology, Puran, the total potential of the process of observation, is found in the 'great intermediate net', which monitors and processes the inputs and outputs of the central nervous system; and provides a corrective response on the basis of intended action, individual needs, environmental demands, and actual performance.

For each of the 3.5 million motor neurons, participating in the display of action, there are an average of 400,000 neurons in the great intermediate net . . .

Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature — His Majesty Prof. Tony Nader-Ram in Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature,
pp. 178-179
Purana Physiology
(click for a larger view)


1. Brahma Purāṇam

2. Padma Purāṇam

1. Svarga Khaṇḍam
2. Bhūmi Khaṇḍam
3. Sṛisthi Khaṇḍam
4. Brahma Khaṇḍam
5. Pātāla Khaṇḍam
6. Uttara Khaṇḍam
7. Kriyā Khaṇḍam

3. Vishṇu Purāṇam

4. Shiva Purāṇam

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

5. Bhāgavata Purāṇam

6. Nārada Purāṇam

1. Pūrva Bhāgam
2. Uttara Bhāgam

7. Markandeya Purāṇam

1 2 3 4 5 6 7

8. Agni Purāṇam

9. Bhavishya Purāṇam

10. Brahma Vaivarta Purāṇam

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

11. Varāha Purāṇam
12. Linga Purāṇam
13. Skanda Purāṇam
14. Vāmana Purāṇam
15. Matsya Purāṇam
16. Garuda Purāṇam
17. Brahmāṇḍa Purāṇam
18. Kūrma Purāṇam


1. Narasiṁha Purāṇa
2. Viṣṇudharma Purāṇa
3. Nāndī Purāṇa
4. Saura Purāṇa
5. Kapila Purāṇa
6. Nīlamata Purāṇa
7. Devī Bhāgavata Purāṇa
8. Parāśaropa Purāṇa
9. Sāmba Purāṇa
10. Śivadharma Purāṇa
11. Śivadharmottara Purāṇa
12. Vāruṇa Purāṇa


His Holiness Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

His Holiness
Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
on the importance of
regular practice of the
Transcendental Meditation technique:

My message to the individual in one sentence is, "Be like a gardener to the tree of your life, water the root." Consciousness is the root of all life. Take your attention to the Transcendental Consciousness through the very simple, natural, effortless technique of Transcendental Meditation.

Maharishi Forum of Natural Law and National Law, p. 306

Learn the TM technique

Click on a branch of Vedic Literature
to access the pdf files

Atharva Veda Yajur Veda Sama Veda Atharva Veda Pratishakhya (Chaturadhyayi) Krishna-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya (Taittiriya) Sama Veda Pratishakhya (Pushpa Sutram) Atharva Veda Pratishakhya Shukl-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya Rk Veda Pratishakhya Itihas Puran Smriti Brahmana Aranyak Upanishad Vyakaran Kalp Shiksha Jyotish Chhand Nirukt Nyaya Vaisheshik Samkhya Yoga Karma Mimansa Vedant Gandharva Veda Dhanur Veda Sthapatya Veda Harita Samhita Bhel Samhita Kashyap Samhita Charak Samhita Sushrut Samhita Vagbhatt Samhita Bhava-Prakash Samhita Sharngadhar Samhita Madhav Nidan Samhita