Reading the Vedic
Literature in Sanskrit
Practicing the Transcendental
Meditation program


Nirukt is one of the structuring dynamics of Rk Veda. It highlights the quality of SELF-REFERRAL DIRECTION involved in structuring Rk Veda. With reference to consciousness, Nirukt comprises the specific sets of laws of Nature that are engaged in promoting the quality of Chhandas — the object of observation, which hides the dynamism of Devata in the witnessing quality of Rishi — within the Samhita level of consciousness, providing a structure to the eternally silent, self-referral, self-sufficient, fully awake state of consciousness, which is intimately personal to everyone. (complete table of qualities)

In the physiology, Nirukta is represented by the pituitary gland, the neurohypophysis, and the sympathetic and parasympathetic systems. These are activated by the limbic system and the hypothalamic releasing factors.

They expand the response and bring it back towards the organs and organ systems of the physiology through a feedback loop that maintains homeostatic balance.

Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature — Prof. Tony Nader-Ram in Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature,
pp. 91-93
Nirukt Physiology
(click for a larger view)

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
on the importance of
regular practice of the
Transcendental Meditation technique:

The Transcendental Meditation Programme is the most direct way for the fulfillment of the supreme philosophy of life, where the individual gains what he wants, where the individual lives life in enlightenment, and where the individual breathes life in cosmic reality.

Introduction to Maharishi Vedic University, p. 262

Learn the TM technique

Click on a branch of Vedic Literature
to access the pdf files

Atharva Veda Yajur Veda Sama Veda Atharva Veda Pratishakhya (Chaturadhyayi) Krishna-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya (Taittiriya) Sama Veda Pratishakhya (Pushpa Sutram) Atharva Veda Pratishakhya Shukl-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya Rk Veda Pratishakhya Itihas Puran Smriti Brahmana Aranyak Upanishad Vyakaran Kalp Shiksha Jyotish Chhand Nirukt Nyaya Vaisheshik Samkhya Yoga Karma Mimansa Vedant Gandharva Veda Dhanur Veda Sthapatya Veda Harita Samhita Bhel Samhita Kashyap Samhita Charak Samhita Sushrut Samhita Vagbhatt Samhita Bhava-Prakash Samhita Sharngadhar Samhita Madhav Nidan Samhita