Reading the Vedic
Literature in Sanskrit
Practicing the Transcendental
Meditation program


Jyotish is one of the structuring dynamics of Rk Veda. It highlights the ALL-KNOWING quality involved in structuring Rk Veda. With reference to consciousness, Jyotish comprises the specific sets of laws of Nature that are engaged in promoting the quality of Rishi — the observer, the witnessing quality — within the Samhita level of consciousness, providing a structure to the eternally silent, self-referral, self-sufficient, fully awake state of consciousness, which is intimately personal to everyone. (complete table of qualities)

Jyotish represents the all-knowing quality of self-referral consciousness. It is that value which sees the past, connects with the present, and foresees the future. This is a predominantly Rishi quality.

Jyotish is the science of prediction, based on mathematical calculations involving the following factors:
1. Nine Grahas
2. The 27 Nakshatras
3. The 12 Bhavas
4. The 12 Rashis

Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature — Prof. Tony Nader-Ram in Human Physiology: Expression of Veda and the Vedic Literature,
pp. 96-120
Jyotish Physiology
(click for a larger view)
1. Bṛhat Pārāshara Horā Shāstra
2. Muhūrtachintāmaṇi
3. Sūrya Siddhānta
4. Shatpañchāshikā

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
on the importance of
regular practice of the
Transcendental Meditation technique:

When human awareness settles down through Maharishi's Transcendental Meditation, it identifies itself with this level of reality (Rk Veda). In its pure wakefulness, human awareness comprehends the details of its own structure and finds that the silent value of its own nature is coexisting with the dynamic value of its own nature.

This coexistence of silence and dynamism presents a picture of silence partaking of dynamism and dynamism partaking of silence.

Introduction to Maharishi Vedic University, p. 343

Learn the TM technique

Click on a branch of Vedic Literature
to access the pdf files

Atharva Veda Yajur Veda Sama Veda Atharva Veda Pratishakhya (Chaturadhyayi) Krishna-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya (Taittiriya) Sama Veda Pratishakhya (Pushpa Sutram) Atharva Veda Pratishakhya Shukl-Yajur-Veda Pratishakhya Rk Veda Pratishakhya Itihas Puran Smriti Brahmana Aranyak Upanishad Vyakaran Kalp Shiksha Jyotish Chhand Nirukt Nyaya Vaisheshik Samkhya Yoga Karma Mimansa Vedant Gandharva Veda Dhanur Veda Sthapatya Veda Harita Samhita Bhel Samhita Kashyap Samhita Charak Samhita Sushrut Samhita Vagbhatt Samhita Bhava-Prakash Samhita Sharngadhar Samhita Madhav Nidan Samhita